Requirement: Email addresses can only be updated for Users listed as “Active” on the User Detail page.
Once email change in the setup menu, a notification email will be sent to the original email address and a verification email will be sent to the new email address to authorize the change. To apply the update, the user must click the verification link sent to their new email and complete the resulting verification steps within 72 hours.
Please note that this will happen when changing the email address on the user record, including changing the "return address" from the user's personal email settings.
When these fields are updated, you can expect the following:
- Username: the field is updated and the user receives an email notification, notifying them of the change.
- Email Address: an email is sent to the new email address so that the change can be confirmed. The field is not updated until the email address owner confirms the change. An email is also sent to the older email address informing the change.
- Return Email Address: an email is sent to the new email address so that the change can be confirmed. The field is not updated until the email address owner confirms the change.